INTERNATIONAL LEAGUE AGAINST EPILEPSY

342 North Main Street, West Hartford, CT 06117-2507, USA Tel: +1 860 586 7547 Fax: +1 860 586 7550

E-mail: info@ilae.org Web site: www.ilae.org

To: African Chapters of the ILAE Re: African regional elections

Monday, 28 October 2013

Dear Chapter Executives,

We are beginning the elections of officers of the Commission on African Affairs (CAA) 2014-2017 to be completed prior to the 2nd African Epilepsy Congress to be held in Cape Town, South Africa from 22-24th May 2014.

The elections will have two phases: first the Chapters will elect the Chair and then the members of the CAA.

ELECTION OF CHAIR

According to the amended Constitution, the regional Chairs become ILAE Vice Presidents.

Nomination phase:

The Chair is elected among the persons who have already served on the CAA as long as they continue to have the support of their primary chapter. The Election's committee contacted all the current members of the CAA to ask them if they are willing to run. The following people have agreed: Dr Gallo (Senegal) and Dr Ohene (Ghana)

The nominees will submit a short bio-sketch with a photo to be placed on the website.

Election phase: Ballots will be sent out by Nov 1, 2013. Ballots must be submitted by November 30, 2013 to the office of the election manager ilae@wc-b.com. To date all African chapters have paid their dues and are eligible to vote.

Each chapter must vote for 1 candidate for the ballots to be valid. Please note that ballots not sent directly to the election manager will be invalid. To be elected, the top candidate must receive at least 51% of the votes. Please note that the current Chair remains as a member of the Commission as Past-Chair unless elected to Chair, as the League's current Constitution allows for previously appointed Chairs to run for election.

ELECTION OF 4 MEMBERS

After election of the Chair, the 4 remaining members are elected (early in 2014). This phase will also include a nomination phase and an election phase.

Nomination phase: Chapters will ask to propose people as candidates but, in order for the candidate to be included in the ballot, the candidate must have the support of their primary Chapter unless there is no Chapter. Nominations will be submitted to the League's election's manager, ilae@wc-b.com. The League's Secretariat will verify that the candidates included in the ballot has the support of the Chapter.

Election phase: The nominees will submit a short bio-sketch with a photo to be placed on the website. Each chapter can vote for up to 4 nominees but not necessarily for all 4 for the ballot to be valid. Please note that ballots not sent directly to the election manager will be invalid. The 4 candidates with the highest number of votes will be elected. In a case of a tie, in accordance with the League's Bylaws, the older



EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

President

Emilio Perucca, Pavia, Italy

Secretary-General

Helen Cross, London, UK

Treasurer

Samuel Wiebe, Calgary, AB, Canada

Past President

Solomon Moshé, NY, USA

Vice President

Tatsuya Tanaka, Asahikawa, Japan

Commission on African Affairs

Amadou Gallo Diop, Dakar, Senegal

Commission on Asian and **Oceanian Affairs**

Byung-In Lee, Seoul, South Korea

Commission on Eastern **Mediterranean Affairs**

Hassan Hosny, Cairo, Egypt

Commission on European

Meir Bialer, Jerusalem, Israel

Commission on Latin American Affairs

Marco Medina, Tegucigalpa, Honduras

Commission on North American Affairs

Sheryl Haut, NY, USA

Editor in Chief, Epilepsia Gary Mathern, Los Angeles,

USA Editor in Chief, Epilepsia

Astrid Nehlig, Strasbourg, France

IBE, President (Ex-Officio) Athanasios Covanis, Athens, Greece

IBE, Secretary-General (Ex-Officio)

Sari Tervonen, Helsinki, Finland

IBE, Treasurer (Ex-Officio) Robert Cole, Adelaide, SA, Australia

candidate will be elected. The exact dates are not yet determined but we anticipate that the elections will be finalized by March 23, 2014

Dr Perucca, the League's President, with the consent of the League's Executive Committee will appoint 2 additional members. The total number of regular Commission members is 8.

Please let us know if you have any questions.

All the best

Solomon Moshé

Chair Election Committee on behalf of the Committee